NetWorker Blog

Commentary from a long term NetWorker consultant and Backup Theorist

  • This blog has moved!

    This blog has now moved to nsrd.info/blog. Please jump across to the new site for the latest articles (and all old archived articles).
  •  


     


     

  • Enterprise Systems Backup and Recovery

    If you find this blog interesting, and either have an interest in or work in data protection/backup and recovery environments, you should check out my book, Enterprise Systems Backup and Recovery: A Corporate Insurance Policy. Designed for system administrators and managers alike, it focuses on features, policies, procedures and the human element to ensuring that your company has a suitable and working backup system rather than just a bunch of copies made by unrelated software, hardware and processes.
  • This blog has moved!

    This blog has now moved to nsrd.info/blog. Please jump across to the new site for the latest articles (and all old archived articles).
  •  


     


     

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Upgrading NetWorker and the ‘tmp’ directory

Posted by Preston on 2009-07-10

Over the years I’ve been forced to come to one key conclusion about the NetWorker ‘tmp’ directory and NetWorker upgrades.

While it’s not stated in any upgrade documentation, and in theory it shouldn’t matter, anyone upgrading their NetWorker server software should, as a matter of course, delete the server’s NetWorker ‘tmp’ directory prior to starting the new version of the software.

If you’re not familiar with this, you’ll find it:

  • On Unix/Linux platforms as: /nsr/tmp
  • On Windows platforms in the NetWorker install directory, as “Legato\nsr\tmp”.

This directory contains a plethora of files, some relating to savegroups, some relating to operations – in general ‘tmp’ is almost a poor choice of nomenclature for it: I like to think of it as a ‘state’ directory instead.

Nine times out of ten, or perhaps even 49 times out of 50, if I do an upgrade of a NetWorker server and forget to delete the ‘tmp’ directory, what can only be described as weird stuff will happen within 72 hours. Groups may not finish. Media may not unload. Libraries may forget state. The mouse on your desk may spontaneously quantum ooze to the floor. You may hear the Twilight Zone theme music playing in the background when it should be entirely quiet – that sort of stuff.

So, if looking for a new rule to follow when upgrading NetWorker on your server, please make sure you delete the NetWorker ‘tmp’ directory. You’ll save yourself a lot of time and hassles.

(Note: Deleting the NetWorker server ‘tmp’ directory prevents any backup that previously failed or was stopped from being restarted after the failure – it will need to be started as a whole new operation.)

Advertisements

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
%d bloggers like this: