NetWorker Blog

Commentary from a long term NetWorker consultant and Backup Theorist

  • This blog has moved!

    This blog has now moved to nsrd.info/blog. Please jump across to the new site for the latest articles (and all old archived articles).
  •  


     


     

  • Enterprise Systems Backup and Recovery

    If you find this blog interesting, and either have an interest in or work in data protection/backup and recovery environments, you should check out my book, Enterprise Systems Backup and Recovery: A Corporate Insurance Policy. Designed for system administrators and managers alike, it focuses on features, policies, procedures and the human element to ensuring that your company has a suitable and working backup system rather than just a bunch of copies made by unrelated software, hardware and processes.
  • This blog has moved!

    This blog has now moved to nsrd.info/blog. Please jump across to the new site for the latest articles (and all old archived articles).
  •  


     


     

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Aside – On second thoughts, escalate that please

Posted by Preston on 2009-07-14

I use Parallels quite a lot within my Mac environment, and recently tried to get Solaris/AMD 64-bit installed. Even on a Mac Pro system Solaris stubbornly refuses to install in 64-bit mode, picking the 32-bit kernel every time.

So after exhausting a lot of search options, I submitted a case to Parallels support – titled:

“Solaris installer does not recognise 64-bit CPU”

Overnight, I got the first email back from Parallels support, with this response:

Escalating this ticket to our next level of Support since the issue is regarding Linux.

I half-typed an email response to correct the engineer, but then I thought better of it. If I need to explain that Solaris isn’t Linux to a support engineer, then on second thoughts, I’d prefer to have my case escalated to an engineer who (hopefully) already knows this.

[2009-07-15 Edit]

The second level support engineer I got was much more savvy in the differences between operating systems and was able to answer my question. Solaris 64-bit Parallels support is being actively worked on, so hopefully I’ll see release notes for an update to the current version “soon” (my words, not theirs) mentioning added support for Solaris 64-bit guests.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
